環境活動

作為與香港共成長的品牌,惠康營商之餘亦兼顧企業社會責任,於環保、慈善及歷史保育等積極推動,以回饋社會。

廚餘回收計劃

惠康新鮮食品中心推出廚餘回收計劃,每日收集於生產過程中產生之廚餘,交予有關機構回收再造成動物飼料或肥料,大大減少有機廢物之產生。

  • 廚餘回收計劃

食物捐贈計劃

惠康與兩間食物銀行樂餉社及齊惜福攜手合作,推行食物捐贈計劃,將包裝上有瑕疵或接近食物期限的貨品捐贈給有需要人士。計劃由2012年的10間合作分店擴展至2015年底近100間,並已捐出相等於接近15萬份飯餐的食物,減少棄置食物之餘,更可惠及社群,具雙贏之效。

  • 食物捐贈計劃

改善環境污染

為減少運輸車排出的氣體,惠康一直積極投放資源於環保汽車。惠康自2008年起率先引入歐盟5型貨車;於2010年,再引入EEV環保貨車,減少排放總污染物88%;及後再於2014年引入環保性能更強的歐盟6型貨車。整個惠康車隊共59輛歐盟5型貨車,其中24輛為EEV環保貨車,再加上新增添的2輛歐盟6型貨車,每年合共減少超過555噸空氣污染物,進一步保護香港環境。

  • Euro 6 truck (Custom)
  • 改善環境污染
  • img_reduce_air_2

環保小先鋒計劃

繼2008年首次招募全港幼稚園學生參加「環保小先鋒」計劃,由惠康、7-Eleven、萬寧與教育局再次合辦「環保小先鋒2009」,成功招募了近10萬名來自全港170間小學的同學與其家長一起參與,即代表全港約四份之一的小學生參加,成為「環保小先鋒」,以過千間零售商舖作為小朋友實踐減用膠袋的平台,迅速在兩個多月內減用近百萬個膠袋。計劃希望藉著年少新一代的力量,讓學生及家長一起實踐減用膠袋的環保行動,養成自備購物袋習慣。

  • 環保小先鋒計劃

環保意識教育

2007年,惠康參與由《新報慈善基金》與東華三院合辦的「小記者訓練課程」,當中20位實習小記者從環保的課題上學習搜集資料、採訪、拍攝和寫作新聞稿,通過這個寶貴課程,加深小朋友對環保概念的認識和理解。

環保袋設計比賽

多年來惠康舉辦了多次環保袋設計活動,2007年與香港青年藝術協會合辦「惠康環保袋設計比賽」,來自不同學校的同學們運用其豐富的想像力,創作天馬行空又能彰顯環保主題的作品。當時更邀請了本地著名插畫家小克與蘇敏怡,親自帶領同學們完成設計,部分出色的作品在比賽結束後,更在惠康分店及商場巡迴展出,得獎作品亦印製成環保袋在全線惠康發售。

  • 環保袋設計比賽

環境保護

自1996年起,惠康已推行多項減用膠袋計劃,更於2006及2007年連續兩年與環保署簽訂「減發膠袋目標協議」,兩年合共減用膠袋1億個

  • 曾舉辦「無膠袋日」活動,於每個「無膠袋日」,惠康將會停止主動派發膠袋 ,顧客每索取一個膠袋可自願捐出港幣五毫,全數金額撥捐環境保護運動委員會作推廣環保教育之用。
  • 於2008年,惠康膠袋上亦印上「愛護香港,請支持少用膠袋」提醒顧客減少使用膠袋。並於全線分店推出棉質環保袋換領計劃。

自備購物袋的惠康顧客比例高達90%。

  • 環境保護

縮短收據

於2007年初重新設計購物收據,令其長度平均縮短20%,減少收據高達700萬米。

循環再用

惠康新鮮食品中心推行「再用熱能」計劃,收集處理食品時所產生的熱力,用於加熱水源再作其他生產過程之用。此外,更以國際標準來處理每年達19,700立方米的廢水,即相等於10個奧運標準游泳池的容量。
自2005年起惠康收集各分店用完的打印機碳粉盒及推行「充電池回收計劃」,循環再造。

節約能源

惠康率先於2001年使用更省電的變壓器,加上改用慳電管,所減少的電量,相等於一個4人家庭240年所用的電量;於2004年開始,更在超過100間分店安裝燈光控制
照明系統,營業時間過後,只保留三分之一電燈運作,減少消耗相等於一個4人家庭60年所用的電量。

重複使用

裝修店鋪時,惠康盡量將鋼具及傢具再用於其他分店,節省資源。另外惠康亦積極測試可多次使用的貨板,達到物盡其用之效。
而1997年開始,所有紙皮箱均會循環再用,至於不能再用的廢紙亦會回收再造。每年回收的紙皮達144公噸。

我們對微膠珠的立場

惠康非常關注微膠珠對環境可造成的影響,所有在香港惠康及旗下超市所出售的自家品牌沖洗式個人護理產品和化妝品均不含微膠珠*,並自2016年初起,禁止在相關產品開發中使用微膠珠成分。同時,超市亦會主動聯絡其他可沖洗式個人護理產品和化妝品的供應商,重申我們對含微膠珠產品的關注,並呼籲供應商改用其他較環保的材料替代微膠珠。
 
香港惠康一直支持及參與環境保護,積極投放資源於各項環保項目及措施。我們會繼續與有關各方合作,於未來引入合適的相應環保措施。


*根據東協化粧品協會(ASEAN Cosmetic Association) 於2016年06月06日就微膠珠 (粒徑: 0.1微米至5毫米)的建議文件。

返回最上

Green Initiatives

Being Hong Kong's largest supermarket chain, we understand that it is important to pay special attention to environmental issues, charity work and historic preservation, because it is our way of supporting the community.

Food Recycling Programme

Wellcome launched a Food Recycling Programme at its Fresh Food Centre. Food waste (by-products generated during pre-packaging of some food products) will be collected by related party daily and turn them to compost or animal feed, reducing the organic waste produced everyday.

Food Donation Programme

Collaborating with two local food banks Feeding Hong Kong and Food For Good, Wellcome runs a food donation programme to donate food items having imperfect packaging or close to expiry date to people in need. The programme has expanded from having 10 cooperating stores in 2012 to nearly 100 stores by end of 2015. Food items donated since the program launch are equivalent to nearly 150,000 meals. Not only does it help reduce food waste, but it also benefits the underprivileged in our society.

Reducing air pollution

Wellcome was the first to introduce Euro 5 vehicles in 2008. In 2010, Wellcome acquired a fleet of more environmentally-friendly EEV trucks, which reduced air pollutants by 88%. In 2014, Wellcome introduced Euro 6 vehicles which have even higher efficiency than the previous generations. All together, Wellcome has a fleet of 59 Euro 5 vehicles, of which 24 are EEV, and 2 newly added Euro 6 vehicles, reducing over 555 tonnes of air pollutants every year.

  • Euro 6 truck (Custom)
  • "Wellcome Home Cooking Idea" Recipe Contest on Facebook
  • img_reduce_air_2

Little Green Ambassador Scheme

Following the recruit all Hong Kong pre-school kids to become "Little Green Ambassador" in 2008, the "Little Green Ambassador Scheme 2009" jointly organized by Wellcome,7-Eleven, Mannings and Education Bureau has recruited nearly 100,000 students from 170 primary schools territory-wide, which is equivalent to around one-fourth of the total number of primary school students in Hong Kong, to become "Little Green Ambassadors" this year and successfully reduced the usage of plastic bags together with their parents, thus saving close to 1 million plastic bags in around two months' time. It aimed to motivate the young generations to inspire their families to pick up the habit of bringing their own bags and establishing a greener family.

  • Little Green Ambassador Scheme

Environmental awareness education

In 2007, Wellcome took part in a "Little Reporter Training Course" organised by Hong Kong Daily News Charities Fund and Tung Wah Group of Hospitals. 20 young reporters gathered information, took photographs, conducted interviews and wrote news stories on a variety of environmental issues - greatly deepening their knowledge and understanding of the environment through this invaluable course.

Wellcome Reusable Bag Design Competition

Wellcome has hosted many Green design activities in recent years, and in 2007, Wellcome and the Hong Kong Youth Arts Foundation co-hosted "Wellcome Reusable Bag Design competition." Fuelled by their imaginations, students from territory-wide schools were invited to submit green design projects. Two renowned local comic artists, Siu Hak and Stella So, were invited to guide students through their projects. Several outstanding projects were exhibited around Wellcome stores and shopping malls after the competition. The winning bag design was reproduced as a real reusable bag for sale in Wellcome supermarkets all over Hong Kong.

  • Wellcome Reusable Bag Design Competition

Protecting the Environment

  • Wellcome first started its plastic bag reduction schemes in 1996, in addition, for two consecutive years in 2006 and 2007, Wellcome signed a Voluntary Agreement on Plastic BagReduction with the Environmental Protection Department. During these two years, we have used 100,000,000 less plastic bags.
  • Wellcome had implemented a weekly "No Plastic Bag Day" every Tuesday. We encouraged our customers to donate HKD$0.5 for every plastic bag they use on Tuesday; all proceeds went to the Environmental Campaign Committee for environmental education.
  • Protecting the Environment

Shorter receipts

In March 2007, we reduced the length of our shopping receipts by an average of 20%, equal to an annual reduction of 7 million metres of till roll every year.

Recycle

Our Fresh Food Centre has implemented a "Heat Recycling" project; we collect waste heat from food processing procedures and use it to heat water for other processes. In addition, we treat on average 19,700 cubic metres of waste water to International Ocean Standard a year – equivalent to almost 10 Olympic sized swimming pools.

Since 2005, we collect and recycle all exhausted printer toners from our stores and are pioneers in promoting the Rechargeable Battery Recycling Programme.

Energy conservation

Since 2001, we have installed energy-saving lighting systems. By using energy-saving light tubes, we have managed to reduce our energy consumption drastically - the energy saved is enough to last a family of four for 250 years.

Since 2004, over 100 stores were fitted with zoning controls that maintain 1/3 of the lightin gafter operation hours. The energy saved is equivalent to 60 years of electricity usage for a family of four.

Reuse

When we renovate our stores, we generally reuse as many of the fixtures as possible in other stores. As well, we are currently initiating a programme in our warehouse to use reusable pallet strips to secure products.

We have also been committed to reusing all cardboard boxes since 1997, those that cannot be reused will be recycled. Each year we estimate that approximately 144 tones of cardboard are collected from our stores.

Our approach on Microbeads

We are aware of environmental concerns around the usage of certain types of plastic microbeads*. No Wellcome Hong Kong own-brand rinse-off personal care or cosmetic product contains microbeads and we have already banned microbeads from new product developments of Wellcome Hong Kong own-brand products since early 2016.

We are proactively communicating with other rinse-off personal care or cosmetic product suppliers to reiterate our concern on the usage of microplastics. We are also recommending our suppliers to switch to more environmentally-friendly alternatives.

Wellcome Hong Kong has been working to take progressive steps in supporting and promoting environmental protection. We will continue to work with relevant stakeholders to introduce further environmental protection measures that we deem appropriate.


*Remarks: According to ASEAN Cosmetic Association Recommendation statement on Plastic Microbeads (Particle size: 0.1 micron-5mm) on 6 June 2016.

Top